Dawson’s Creek nostalgia

So, from the generation that did not really grow up with this iconic show, I am now watching it and I gotta say, I have no patience to deal with all the adolescent drama. However, I seem to be unable to give it up. Why is that, you wonder? Well, here it goes.

I can’t stand James van der Beek. Yes, I know it’s not a pro. But I had to see what all the fuss was all about. Overanalysing, overthinking, being more of a girl than all the girls I know together, Dawson is by far one of the LEAST annoying characters on the show. Yeah, I know I said “least”. I speak English, thank you very much! To be honest, it gives me some kind of a perverse pleasure to hate on him. Okay, I realize it’s not the best way to start my blog. I promise, I don’t hate everythigng, although I have been told this is my charm.

Joshua Jackson’s Pacey was for a long time, if not my favourite, then at least the least not favourite. Does that make any sense? Yes? No? Okay, I don’t hate him. I don’t like him excessively much. Also, I am so glad that the combining of names did not exist 15 years ago… Poey? Pandy? Pen? Pemma? Paudrey? Okay, PANDY I like! So of the initial four, he was the one that did not make me wanna throw up my breakfast. Goon on him!

Katie Holmes. Ugh. Ugh! Joey is the most neurotic, annoying, overreacting, obnoxious, self-centred little brat. Ever! In! The! History! Of! Television! I mean, what is there to say? The character is completely flat and uninteresting.

Michelle Williams. What the heck? How can a woman walk so hideously? Beyond that, Jen is portrayed as some gorgeous little lady. Alright, not “lady” but you know what I mean. Well, who the bloody place where sinners go cast her? Overall, the only cute thing about Jen is her Grams, who is, and no argument here, the MOST AWESOME CHARACTER ON THE SHOW! So badass! And the way she can express all her feeling in one word alone – Jeniffer!

Jack. I mean, Kerr Smith. Ah, beautiful, beautiful man! And the greatest character (after Grams!). Basically, here I’m coming to the point as to why I am still watching. I want to have a GBF like him. He cracks me up all the time. And his awkwardness is so cute and at the same time so appropriate. Frankly, the only character that is not completely and utterly boring.

So there you have it. Most of the reasons I am still watching this Zeus-knows-how-it-had-such-a-long-run show is because I like hating on it. Now, naturally, I can’t hate on everything in one post, so till next time I watch an episode due to lack on anything else to watch. (Thanks, Winter Olympics!) I hope I find some fellow haters, but a fair warning, I have some serious fangirling moments, so if you occasionally find a nicely disposed post/review/recap, don’t lose interest.

See you next time. (I am still working on a closing line.)Image

Leave a Reply

